Overview of M.I.S. education

The foundation of our curriculum is the National Curriculum for England. This curriculum received a major revision in 2014 and it is this revised version which forms the basis of our current MIS curriculum.

Curriculum is composed of three core subjects:


Being able to communicate in English and gets a deeper understanding in a different perspective way.


Being able to think analytically and to have a better reasoning abilities and better problem-solving skills.


Being able to think logically to solve a problem and to have a better understanding on the things around us.

These core subjects are the prime areas of focus from Keys Stage 1 to Key Stage 4, where all three are mandatory IGCSE subjects:

The rest of the curriculum is made up of foundation subjects:

Art and Design

M.I.S provides the opportunity that the student can acquire new skills as well as knowledge of different art forms, media and techniques.

Computing or ICT

M.I.S. helps students to deepen their knowledge of technology and how it works.

Design and Technology

M.I.S. provides opportunities for students to develop their capability by combining their design and making skills with knowledge and understanding they learn to create quality products.

Languages (Thai and Mandarin)

M.I.S fosters an understanding of the interrelation of languages and human nature, teaches and encourages respect for other people and makes one more flexible.


M.I.S. provides deeper understanding about the environment and sustainable development, places and the relationships between people and their environments.


M.I.S. helps student to have a deeper understanding on the past and how it change and how the society came to be.


M.I.S. made a significant impact on students’ ability to memorize, to increase creativity, to improve discipline and mental capacity through music.

physical education

M.I.S. develops students’ competence and confidence to take part in different kinds of physical activities that become a central part of their lives, both in and out of school.

religious education

M.I.S. develops students’ knowledge and understanding of different kinds of religion, beliefs, practices, language and traditions and their influence on individuals, communities, societies and cultures.

All of these subjects are taught from Key Stage 1 through Key Stage 3 (Year 9). From Year 10 students are studying exclusively for their IGCSE examinations. This curriculum is provided by Cambridge International who set the IGCSEs. Other then the three core subjects all subjects are chosen by the students although, give the importance of high-level computer skills in today’s world, we have chosen to make ICT a mandatory IGCSE. We also expect all of our Thai national students to study for a Thai Language IGCSE.


We believe that the general outline and principles of the English National Curriculum continues to give us a good foundation on which to build our educational programme. Naturally, we have made a number of adaptations to enhance our programme of study and to take into account our specific needs as an International school but as a template to build upon. The English curriculum serves us well.

Early years

At the Early Years Foundation Stage (Preschool A to Kindergarten) the English Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) curriculum is supplement by elements of the Montessori curriculum.

Both approaches promote the key areas of care, learning and development. The EYFS curriculum is divided into three prime areas:

1.  Communication and language
2. Physical development
3. Personal, social and emotional development

And four specific areas:

Understanding of the world
Expressive arts and design


International Schools Association of Thailand

IGCSE Cambridge School

Educational Development Trust (pending)



Copyright © Mooltripakdee International School 2020