Preparing Children for Success



There are three broad educational phases at MIS:

1) Preschool & Kindergarten

2) Primary School

3) Secondary School

1. Early Years (Preschool A to Kindergarten)

Our Early Years phase is made up of 3 levels, for children between two and five years old. We use a unique curriculum that combines the English EYFS curriculum with elements of the Montessori method designed to promote the key areas of care, development and learning. The Kindergarten level is equivalent to the Reception class in the English system where more formal learning objectives, such as synthetic phonics and number bonds, are combined with the developmental aspects of the Early Years Learning Goals.

2. Primary School (Years 1 - 6)

Our Primary school caters for children between five and 11 years old. In line with the English Primary school system, it is divided into two distinct key stages: Key Stage 1 (Years 1 & 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 – 6). The MIS Primary curriculum is rooted in the English National Primary Curriculum with some modifications that take account of the cultural and linguistic make-up of our student body. All of our pupils are treated as individuals and their unique talents are nurtured and developed within a framework of high academic standards and a wide range of experiences.

3. Secondary School (Years 7 - 11)

Our Secondary school welcomes students between the ages of 11 and 16. It is also divided into Key Stages following the English model: Key Stage 3 (Years 7 – 9) and Key Stage 4 (Years 10 & 11). Secondary school students follow the Cambridge International curriculum in preparation for the Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) exams which they usually take towards the end of Year 11. As our students progress through the secondary school an increasing emphasis is placed on producing independent and self-motivated learners who are developing the critical thinking and collaborative skills that are now being sought by universities and employers.